Paramedic School is Over!

Rawley Springs, taken during a recent visit to Harrisonburg

Rawley Springs, taken during a recent visit to Harrisonburg

Well, I took another of those blogger breaks, which I’m ashamed to admit have been fairly frequent in the past year.  However, my posts should pick up again now.

Paramedic school is over!

We finished the classroom portion of the class on July 28th.  I finished my last field ride (working as a paramedic student in an ambulance, with actual patients) on August 3rd.  I took the psycho-motor exam (which is fancy talk for an exam testing how well I can do the practical skills of paramedicine, like intubate, start IV’s, calculate drug dosages, manage an emergency scene, perform patient assessment, etc. etc.) on August 9th, almost a year exactly from when I started the program.

My goal.  So close!

My goal. So close!

At this point, the only thing standing between me and certification as a paramedic is the written exam, which I will schedule sometime in the next two weeks.  I have four attempts to pass a long, multiple-choice exam.  Of course, I hope to knock it out on the first shot!  I’ve been enjoying having some additional time off now.  It’s a bit of a shock to go from working long stretches of time without a break, to having regularly scheduled days off.

To celebrate, we took a quick trip to Northern VA and Washington DC.  The primary reason was that our friends Chris and Kelly had invited us to a Nickel Creek concert.  They were fantastic!  One of the only bands I’ve ever been to that sounds as good in concert as they do on recordings.  Eli also enjoyed the concert, spending a great amount of time dancing and yelling “Nickel Creek!  Nickel Creek!” (he’s a big fan).

We also visited the Air and Space Museum and the National Zoo, which were big hits with Eli.

We went to a local baseball game recently.

We went to a local baseball game recently.

Eli was more interested in climbing the stairs to the very top row of the stadium than watching the game.  Future climber.

Eli was more interested in climbing the stairs to the very top row of the stadium than watching the game. Future climber.

We managed a family selfie too.

We managed a family selfie too.

Eli loved the airplanes.  Everytime he saw an airplane fly overhead, he would announce "That's my airplane!"  Apparently he owns United Airlines...

Eli loved the airplanes. Everytime he saw an airplane fly overhead, he would announce “That’s my airplane!” Apparently he owns United Airlines…

Tyrannosaur child!

Tyrannosaur child!

The giant Amazonian fish were also a big hit.

The giant Amazonian fish were also a big hit.

Now that paramedic school is over, I hope to begin to repair some of the physical damage the past year has caused.  I had hoped that I would be able to exercise regularly, but it became apparent about a third of the way through that many times there would just not be enough hours in the day.  I also had to choose food based on the “How quickly can it be ready, and can I eat it in the time period before I get my next call?” scale.  I also became addicted to Red Bull.  Yes, I know its terrible for me, but when you have to be alert, but don’t have enough time to get adequate sleep, you have to make sacrifices.  I’m not proud of it, but I did what I had to at the time.  I know I’ve gained some weight (truth be told I’m a bit afraid to step on the scale right now–I will be forcing myself to face reality later tonight).

Now that life has slowed down, I plan to start making healthier choices, and to start exercising again.  I also hope to start doing the things that help me relax. I miss cooking and trying new recipes, visiting historic sites, and yes, hiking and rock climbing.

So, hopefully more updates and mountain-based musing soon!

Hope to see you soon, Seneca!

Hope to see you soon, Seneca!

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paramedic School is Over!

  1. Joshua says:

    Great post Ethan! I miss you my friend. Good luck on your written!

Leave a Reply

