What We’ve Been Up To Lately

Time for an update!

Things are going well for us here in Richmond, though its becoming increasingly obvious to us that we really miss the Shenandoah Valley.  Richmond is a fascinating city, filled with vibrant, interesting people.  However, we miss the mountains a lot.

Parker and Eli!

Parker and Eli!

This past summer, we spent some time with Josh, Jackie, and their little boy, Parker.  Josh and Jackie have family connections to a cabin out in West Virginia.  Eli and Parker had a great time interacting and “talking” baby business, and Mel and I enjoyed caching up with friends we had not seen in about a year.  It had been an eventful year as well!  Both families had relocated from Harrisonburg, had children, and started “grown-up” jobs.  Eli also learned about throwing rocks into water, and about how cold mountain creeks could be!  Josh and I took a day to climb at Seneca.  We spent some time on the Seneca classic Conn’s West (5.4 II).  The weather was perfect; low humidity, warm temps, beautiful sunshine.  I did manage to tweak my shoulder on the third pitch; truth be told, I still feel that a bit.

Throwing rocks in Seneca Creek is fun!

Throwing rocks in Seneca Creek is fun!

Melissa has moved to full time at the small school she teaches at.  She primarily teaches 3 and 4 year olds, though she has also been known to spend time in the infant’s class and the older kid’s class.  She loves it for the most part, though like every job, there are some parts that are more frustrating than others.

I just got to the halfway point of paramedic school; I’ll be starting the testing process in August.  Quite frankly, I’m ready to be done.  I’m looking forward to having days off again, instead of working for weeks in a row without a break.  I’m also looking forward to being able to spend some time outside again!

They say a picture is worth a thousand words; here are some photos from our family life in the last couple months!

We do our best to take advantage of the green spaces here in RIchmond; the city parks are excellent, even if they aren't Shenandoah National Park!

We do our best to take advantage of the green spaces here in RIchmond; the city parks are excellent, even if they aren’t Shenandoah National Park!

Eli is starting to see rocks as "things to climb on."  I'm so proud!

Eli is starting to see rocks as “things to climb on.” I’m so proud!

Aunt Esther gave him a tent just his size for Christmas, which hopefully will get a lot of use this spring, summer, and fall.

Aunt Esther gave him a tent just his size for Christmas, which hopefully will get a lot of use this spring, summer, and fall.

Richmond is growing on us, but still doesn't always feel like home.  But we've got an excellent church family, and we're slowly discovering the fun side of things.

Richmond is growing on us, but still doesn’t always feel like home. But we’ve got an excellent church family, and we’re slowly discovering the fun side of things.

Jack O' Lanterns were a big hit this year.

Jack O’ Lanterns were a big hit this year.

Having a toddler is hard work; but its also fun, because you get to explore the world all over again as they go through it for the first time.  This is Mel and Eli exploring Pocohontas State Park.

Having a toddler is hard work; but its also fun, because you get to explore the world all over again as they go through it for the first time. This is Mel and Eli exploring Pocohontas State Park.

Eli continues to love the water.  This lifejacket has the added bonus of protecting him from falls on dry land...

Eli continues to love the water. This lifejacket has the added bonus of protecting him from falls on dry land…

I'm still working at Richmond Ambulance Authority as an EMT, and trying to move towards becoming a medic.  I like my job; there are days that are harder than others.

I’m still working at Richmond Ambulance Authority as an EMT, and trying to move towards becoming a medic. I like my job; there are days that are harder than others.

One of my new year’s resolutions is to have more outdoor adventures worthy of blogging.  Lately, I haven’t been able to get outside that much, and since this is an outside blog I haven’t been able to write much.  Hopefully this will change…

Spring can’t come soon enough!

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

