The Past 9 Months

Glancing at my blog, I can see that the last real post I wrote was when Elijah was born.  So what have we been up to for the past nine months?

I’ve been working pretty hard at my job.  The agency I work for answered 78,000 calls for service in the 2012 calendar year.  I started there as a “Blueberry” (a probationary EMT; called a “blueberry” because of the baby blue color of the uniform shirt) at the beginning of June.  I cleared preception and became a “Blue-Shirt” (a cleared provider; cleared providers wear navy blue polo shirts during the summer and gray button up uniform shirts in the winter) at the beginning of August.  I spent the first 5 months on the street assigned to the transport ambulance.  Basically, I shuttled patients from the hospital to home, or from the hospital to the nursing home, or from the nursing home to a doctor’s appointment.  Starting in January, I moved to a 911 Emergency ambulance.  I work with a paramedic, and answer 911 calls around the city.

I was rated as fully effective in my November performance evaluation, and I also was told that I had driven around 3,000 miles since I started in June.  I actually went to Google Maps to figure out where that would put me; basically, if I started in Virginia Beach and drove 3,000 miles, I would end up in the vicinity of Seattle something like three days later (if I drove continuously).

Blueberry shirt!  Academy begins...

Blueberry shirt! Academy begins…

IMG_0144

It’s a strange picture, I agree. In my defense, I was very bored when it was taken.

Ambulances posted under a bridge.  I was crew on 78.

Ambulances posted under a bridge. I was crew on 78.

Melissa has also been working hard.  She found a job at a small daycare/preschool called Messiah Lutheran School, in the nearby town of Mechanicsville.  She’s working about 20 hours a week currently, but recently got a promotion.  Basically, when the lady in charge of the school isn’t on site, Melissa fills the position.  But enough about work.  How about some fun stuff?

Elijah is a joy, and has really grown up into a happy, curious, enthusiastic little guy.  We call him Eli for short.  He’s got a great personality, and loves people.  We’ve discovered that he loves the water, and swimming is one of his favorite things to do.  Looks like we’ll be going on lots of family trips to the river this summer!  I could write and write and write about him, but I think I’ll just drop a bunch of pictures in.  Here, in mostly chronological order, is our first 9 months with Elijah.

One of our first weekends living in Richmond.  We went to the Virginia Science Museum.

One of our first weekends living in Richmond. We went to the Virginia Science Museum.

DSC00008

So little!

Melissa and Eli, the "Flying Bunny."  Out for a walk in Maymont Park.

Melissa and Eli, the “Flying Bunny.” Out for a walk in Maymont Park.

Watching a Richmond Flying Squirrels baseball game (minor league home team).

Watching a Richmond Flying Squirrels baseball game (minor league home team).

Who can resist that face?

Who can resist that face?

Yup, he's a waterbaby.  He actually loves it, and I promise, no babies were frozen in the making of this picture.

Yup, he’s a water-baby. He actually loves it, and I promise, no babies were frozen in the making of this picture.

Growing up, and becoming quite the smiler.  Chilling out in his ride.

Growing up, and becoming quite the smiler. Chilling out in his ride.

All snazzed up for my sister's wedding.

All snazzed up for my sister’s wedding.

Family Portrait

Family Portrait

Enjoying a day in Charlottesville with my family; that's my youngest sister, my brother, and my mom.

Enjoying a day in Charlottesville with my family; that’s my youngest sister, my brother, and my mom.

Elijah visits daddy at work!

Elijah visits daddy at work!

Richmond Christmas Parade!

Richmond Christmas Parade!

Christmas shopping for mommy.

Christmas shopping for mommy.

A family walk in the park.

A family walk in the park.

It's too cold to swim, tiny boy!

It’s too cold to swim, tiny boy!

New crib!

New crib!

Such a dapper little fella!

Such a dapper little fella!

Just a morning spent lounging around in a diaper, watching Baby Einstein.

Just a morning spent lounging around in a diaper, watching Baby Einstein.

Sticks and dirt are fun!

Sticks and dirt are fun!

Another family walk (yes, we go on a lot).

Another family walk (yes, we go on a lot).

Eli and Mel encounter a goat!

Eli and Mel encounter a goat!

A very recent picture (this just happened earlier this morning).  First time on a bigger kid swing!  He loved it!

A very recent picture (this just happened earlier this morning). First time on a bigger kid swing! He loved it!

So that’s Eli.  It’s been a bit of a hard transition for me, moving to Richmond.  Richmond is a city rich in historical significance.  You can’t drive around here without encountering reminders from the past from any number of eras.  Patrick Henry gave the “Give me Liberty, or Give me Death!” speech here.  Richmond was the major objective of the Civil War.  So on and so forth.  However, Richmond does not have much when it comes to mountains.  It’s a river town; so if you’re a kayaker or fly fisherman or trail runner, it’s a great town for you.  For those of us like me, who crave the high, exposed crag-like places, it’s a bit rougher.  However, I’m getting by.  Leaving Shenandoah NP and George Washington NF was hard, but Richmond has a great park system, and I’m steadily finding the green spaces.  So there will be adventures to write about this spring.

Richmond skyline at night.

Richmond skyline at night.

 

 

 

 

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

