Online Climbing Museum!

I spent some time reading my Seneca Rocks guidebook yesterday; I was bored (there were no “customers” for the aid room, which is a good thing, but it does make for a very slow shift), and I’m working on a list of different routes I’d like to try this spring.  On a whim, I googled images of the Gendarme, the iconic pinnacle of rock that once stood in the Gunsight Notch at Seneca. 

As an aside; it kills me that the Gendarme fell before I was able to climb it.  That’s not quite fair actually.  The Gendarme fell in October of 1987, so I was 16 months old, so the Gendarme fell way before I was climbing (I had just figured out the walking thing about 7 months before at that point…).  I’ve always wished that it hadn’t though, just so I could have tried it. 

Anyway, that’s how I discovered the Seneca Rocks Museum, and online museum that showcases historic climbing memorabilia and artifacts from Seneca.  After an hour or so of fascinated clicking, I was more than convinced that I should link it, and also bring it to the attention of local climbers that I know.  So, here it is!  You can get to the Seneca Rocks Museum either by clicking the link, or by going over to the blogroll, scrolling down to “Climbing,” and finding the link there. 

I think one of the treasures of this site is in the “Media” section.  If you scroll through, at the end you’ll find several recorded interviews with John Markwell and Tom Cecil, two of the pioneering climbers/guides in the Seneca story.  You can also flip through a digital copy of the 2009/2010 summit register (and read all the climbing wisdom…ahem…). 

In other climbing news, it looks like we’re going to be getting an early start to the climbing season this spring!  With the temperatures consistently in the mid-50’s, climbing without freezing one’s fingers off is again possible.  I’ve got a long list of routes I want to try, so it’s going to be a great climbing season this 2012!

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Online Climbing Museum!

  1. stagewest says:

    Good post and interesting link for the climbing museum!
    Chris

    • Ethan Zook says:

      Thanks! If you ever visit the Seneca area, most of the artifacts pictured in the online museum can be seen in person at the climbing shop in the town of Seneca Rocks, also called “The Gendarme.”

Leave a Reply

