10 Things That Delight Me

I read a blog called Doin’ The Grown-Up Thing by a young lady in Washington DC.  She does something called “10 on Thursday,” where she writes about 10 (usually unrelated) things in bullet point format.  I always enjoy reading them as they are frequently hilarious, regularly insightful, and always well written.  Miss Doin’ The Grown-Up Thing, you can quote me on that if you’d like!  Well, I’m taking a page from her book:  10 Things that Delight Me (on Tuesday). 

  • I’m delighted with my current job.  I’m working in the aid room at the Massanutten Ski Slopes, and frankly I’m as happy as a clam.  I get to walk around wearing a radio harness, and I get to use my emergency and wilderness medical training.

    You know your job is awesome when you get to look like this.

 

  • I’m delighted that I choose my clothing each morning based on two things: a) the weather, and b) my best guess about how cold it will be to ride the snowmobile at work.  That’s right!  I get to ride a snowmobile at work.  Now that’s fun.  Its hard to have a bad day at work when the work day begins with a snowmobile ride.  I also get to wear underwear to work every day (you laugh, but remember, I worked a job where I wore swim trunks every day), and I don’t have to worry about the possible adverse health effects of standing up to my middle in heavily chlorinated water every day.
  • I’m delighted that my unborn baby Bean is so darn active all the time.  Everytime we go to the doctor’s office for a checkup, the midwives are always surprised at how active Bean is.  Also, Bean has really become a kicker.  I think this means that Bean will also be a really good climber.
  • I’m delighted that I’ll be starting a job in April that will get me outdoors every day.  I think I’m going to have a lot of fun in my Field Instructor position; I mean, when your job description includes leading rock climbing, canoeing, backpacking, hiking, low and high ropes, caving, and environmental ed., what’s not to like?
  • I’m delighted with my coffee machine.  Perhaps a bit petty, but its true.  I’ve had this coffee machine since I was a junior in college, when my friend Daniel and I were rooming together.  Its still going strong, and is unfailingly faithful in providing me with my morning fix. 
  • I’m delighted that I’ve finally started getting my copy of Ski Patrol in the mail.  Ski Patrol is the magazine published by the National Ski Patrol.  I’ve finally started receiving mine.  Its a cool magazine, lots of pretty pictures and cool articles. 
  • I’m delighted with day care centers.  Specifically, I’m delighted with the daycare center that recently hired Melissa.  Its stressful being the only one providing a paycheck (particularly when I only make $8.71/hr; and I’m not saying its her fault either!).  This has taken a lot of pressure off.
  • I’m delighted with my coworkers.  I used to work at a place where I did not feel valued by my coworkers (there were some who did; they made work bearable).  I got the feeling that it really didn’t matter that much whether I was there or not.  Now, I walk into the patrol room and everybody is happy to see me.  I’m greeted by name, and its clear that my contribution is valued.  I love that my coworkers are awesome like that, and I look up to and respect all of them.  They’ve taught me a lot, and I can’t think of a group of people I’d rather work with. 
  • I’m delighted that I have a car that dosen’t scare the living crap out of me.  Our last car was a ’95 Hyundai Elantra.  I really liked that car, but near the end it scared the crap out of me.  I was never sure if I’d make it to work or not.  Now, we’re driving a Dodge Caravan.  It’s huge, blocky, and inhales gas, but it hasn’t let me down, and I know it will get me from point A to point B (even if I have to pass through point C on the way). 
  • I’m delighted with the skiing season.  Somehow we have managed to keep limping along.  Today, it was about 60 degrees outside.  However, the snow crew (all of whom deserve medals) blew enough snow back when it was cold so that we are still skiing.  Quite frankly I didn’t think we’d make it to January, let alone almost February.  But here we are.  It looks like we may make it to March yet…

There you have it!

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Things That Delight Me

  1. Pingback: 10 Things That Delight Me | Mountain Ramblings

  2. Love this list! I think it’s hilarious how you decide what to wear to work and I can totally relate to your coffee machine delight! Very fun.

Leave a Reply

