Time for Thanks and Updates

Well, it’s Thanksgiving.  Many are spending today thinking about what they are thankful for, and I suppose I’m no exception.  I am of course thankful for the usual; family, friends, food, health, and a job.

But I think my thankfulness for some of these things goes deeper than it did for me in the past.  It hasn’t been an easy year for Melissa and I, and Melissa has been a major encouragement as I struggle to get up the gumption to go to work everyday, and as I come home, sometimes very discouraged.

My parents have also been a major part of helping provide a little extra when my paychecks don’t quite get us all the way there.  Not only have they helped us financially, they provided a vehicle for us when ours broke down this November.  Additionally, Melissa’s mom has been a constant source of encouragement for Melissa and I.  So thank you to our parents.

And to our friends; we are so blessed by our group of buddies.  While we are more spread out now and can’t get together to watch The Office and 30 Rock every Thursday like we used to, we still are incredibly thankful for the encouragement and friendship that we get from our group, “The Penguin Avengers.”

I’m also thankful to have a job.  While that used to be something we all took for granted, we no longer can afford to overlook how lucky we are to be able to go to work everyday.  I don’t always enjoy my job; while being a full time lifeguard isn’t what I thought I’d be doing at this point in my life, it has paid the bills over the past 14 months or so.

What goes along with that is my health.  I’m not in the best shape of my life (I’m improving), but I’m healthy and I don’t have to go to the doctor much.  Additionally, I’m healthy enough to enjoy the outdoors.

All these things give me incredible optimism for the coming year.  And so do the updates, which come next.

First, and perhaps most exciting, is an update that hit Facebook a few weeks ago but which I haven’t had time to put here yet.  Melissa and I are expecting a baby!  We don’t know what we are expecting yet; in fact, we’re going to do our best to keep in a surprise (though with advances in ultrasound technology, it may be impossible NOT to tell…).  Until we know, we are calling him/her “Bean.”  If you look at the Cast of Characters page, you will find that Bean has been added.  Don’t take the color of the diaper as any hints; we honestly don’t know.  To be honest, I’m hoping for a girl…  Bean will be making her/his appearance in the ten days before or after May 23, 2012.

Second, I passed the Outdoor Emergency Care exam, and am now a member of the Massanutten Ski Patrol.  While I’m not going to be patrolling the slopes, I will be working in the aid rooms on the mountain, which is a little more in line with my interests/qualifications than being a lifeguard.  Woot!

Finally; good news on the job market!  My days as a lifeguard at Massanutten are numbered!  About two weeks ago I interviewed at the Sheridan School Mountain Campus, located in Luray, VA.  I wasn’t very optimistic going into the interview; I didn’t have a great experience with at the last outdoor ed job where I had to live on-site, and I didn’t know how I’d do a on-site job as a married man and soon to be dad.

Turns out the interview not only went very well, but that I would not be required to live at the facility. Additionally, they made a pretty good paycheck offer with benefits.  So, I’m happy to announce that two weeks ago I accepted a position at the Sheridan School Mountain Campus as a field instructor.  I will be starting in April.

So, thanks and updates.

 

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time for Thanks and Updates

  1. Pingback: Time for Thanks and Updates | Mountain Ramblings

Leave a Reply

