First Snow of the Season!

I had heard that there was 3-6 inches of snow in the forecast, but I was cynical.  We often have early snow forecasts that don’t pan out.  But wouldn’t you know it, as I was leaving work there were big, wet snowflakes falling.

The next morning we woke up to about 4 inches on the ground.  I stand corrected.  I don’t think I’ve ever had to break out the warm gear so early in the year.  I usually can make it with a fleece until after Thanksgiving, and sometimes almost to Christmas!

Melissa showed Oliver the snow.  He was interested, and hopped up on the windowsill for a better look.  He was then promptly distracted by the plants.

We were heading out on the town to re-stock on some much needed consumables (TP, shampoo, shaving cream, library books and dvd’s, etc.), but first had to clear off the car and avoid the tree carnage.  This particular tree was across the street, and feel into the road blocking one lane.

I should note that we would have loved to get up in the mountains and explore the snow, but I had to work…which is why all the pictures were taken around our apartment.

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

