Long Overdue Family Vacation

It’s been awhile since I updated here; I’ve simply been busy re-adjusting to life outside of camp.  Melissa and I have been back in Harrisonburg since August 16 or so, and I’ve been working at Massanutten again.

We actually returned from camp on August 6, but promptly left on vacation.  We went with my family to the Asheville, NC area, and enjoyed the sights in that neck of the woods.  It was fun for Melissa and I to return; we really liked the area when we visited during our honeymoon just over a year ago.  We had been hankering to return to Great Smokey Mountain National Park ever since.

Here are some photos from the experience!

Melissa and I hiking in Great Smokey.

A very pretty waterfall we found at a trailhead in the Pisgah National Forest.

A different view of the same waterfall.

I managed to get some really nice pictures of humingbirds at a feeder in the Pisgah.

Brevard, NC is a really nice town. We liked the downtown section.

We also liked Sliding Rock, in the Pisgah.

The water was about 42 degrees, but it was worth it.

I hope to begin updating my blog on a more regular basis again.  I’ve been working every shift I can get my hands on, so mountain time has suffered a bit lately.  I’m hoping that will change in the new future.

 

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Overdue Family Vacation

  1. LaVonne Hammett says:

    Glad you had a great vacation. The Smokies are really beautiful. Will look forward to more of your posts. Tell your mom and dad hi said hello!

Leave a Reply

