We’re set for the Summer.

Well, it’s official.  Mel and I are heading to Pennsylvania for the summer.

In the middle of winter, we were sitting around our apartment one night and Melissa turns to me and says, “I want to work at a camp this summer.”  I’ve always loved camps.  I went to camp just about every summer from the time I was 6 until I was 16 or so.  Then I worked at camps.  So I was more than happy to help look for one.   Additionally, Melissa has to do an internship for her master’s degree.  This seemed like a good way to kill a couple birds with one stone.  She gets her credit, we get paid a little bit, we get to have a fun summer, and we get to save money.

We talked to a lot of camps, but in the end we settled on Camp Hebron in Halifax, Pennsylvania.  Melissa has accepted a position as a camp pastor for the summer, and I’ll be working as a first aid consultant (basically, a camp nurse).

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re set for the Summer.

  1. Megan says:

    No kidding!
    Sweet deal. When are you guys headed up? I leave Sunday for North Carolina (and camp). =)

  2. Ethan Zook says:

    The plan at this point is that we will be leaving June 1. Camp ends around August 6th, and we might take a week of vacation after that. Basically we’ll be back in the ‘burg around mid-August.

Leave a Reply

