Yeah, Black Diamond!

It’s getting warmer out; the high this past week has been in the high 50’s and low 60’s, and even though it has been getting cooler in the evening, it is no longer dipping below freezing.  This means that the spring outdoor adventure season is almost upon us.  With this in mind, I headed to the slopes yesterday afternoon after work.  I figured I would grab a last day or so of skiing while I still could.  I also figured that it might be the last opportunity to try some of the hard slopes before the season ended.

It was windy; so windy, in fact, that I could stand at the top of a ski run, point my skis downhill, and let the wind push me down over the edge.  I was very happy to be using my new ski goggles.  Finally, my eyes were protected and stayed pretty warm.

After warming up on the easy and moderate slopes, I finally got up the courage to try a black diamond.  Let me tell you, it’s a long lift ride anyway, but being nervous made it feel like forever.  The view from the top was fantastic.

After what seemed like a long time spent deciding which run to do, I decided on ParaDice (Spelled funny because the owner of the resort is named Dice Hammer).  I started cutting wide sweeps back and forth across the run, so I didn’t pick up too much speed.  Even though I crashed a couple of times on the way down (and one actually hurt quite a bit), I made it to the bottom, and promptly got back on the lift again.  By the end of the night, I had done both Diamond Jim and ParaDice several times.

The best part of the evening was later at night, when the harder slopes were pretty empty.  I had both the ski runs entirely to myself, which was nice because I could concentrate on my turns and on enjoying the run.  I also didn’t have to worry about any snowboarders blasting past me or running into me (no offense to you guys, I just get a little worried when you shoot by me that close).

Just so you know, I took a friend named Brittany skiing on Friday night; there is a great video of her taking on Southern Comfort (a moderate run) on the Mountain Ramblings YouTube channel.  She wanted me to make sure to say that she wouldn’t have crashed at the end, except that I cut her off.  You can take that with a grain of salt if you would like!

About Ethan Zook

I'm 27, and happily married to a pretty girl named Melissa with a little boy named Elijah. From the Shenandoah Valley, currently hanging out in Richmond, VA. I love exploring the wild places around the area. I write two blogs; Mountain Ramblings is about my personal explorations in the mountains and valleys that I live around. In Mountain Rescue Blog, I write about issues faced by rescuers in mountain environments both locally and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

